Copyright Infringement Facebook Phishing Scam
The original site is no longer online; links go to the Internet Archive copy.
What the fact-checkers found
Facebook users should keep an eye out for fake copyright infringement warnings that are being distributed via Facebook private messages.
The fraudulent messages, which at first glance may appear to be official Facebook notifications, claim that your account is to be deactivated due to a large number of copyright infringement reports.
The messages suggest that you click a link to complete an appeal form if you think the account deactivation is a mistake.
Here’s an example of one of the messages:
*A f t e r a large number of copyright infringement reports directed to your account , we are sorry to inform you that we h ave to deactivate your account .
W e made this decision after we checked your acco unt activity a nd i t was c o nfirmed that you h a v e i n f r i nged others copyright o wnersh ip.
If you think this is a mistake we provided you an appeal form below :
[Link removed]
•Note: Please keep in mind that if we do not recieve an appeal from your account we have to respect the decision mentio ned abo ve.
However, Facebook did not send the message and your account is not about to be deactivated as claimed.
In fact, the message is a phishing scam designed to steal your Facebook account login details. It has no connection to Facebook. Note that genuine Facebook notifications would never use a link supplied by URL shortening service bit.ly.
If you click the link, you will be taken to a fraudulent website that gives the illusion that it is part of Facebook. The web address of the fake page contains the words “facebook.com” in an effort to fool people into believing that they are still on Facebook.
When you arrive at the fake website, the following fake copyright notice will be displayed:
When you click the “Continue” button, the following bogus “Facebook Security” form will load in your browser:
After you complete the form, you will be automatically redirected to the Page Guidelines help file on the genuine Facebook website.
Meanwhile, the scammers can collect the information you submitted on the fake form and use it to hijack your Facebook account. Once they have gained control of your account, they can lock you out and begin using your account to distribute spam and scam messages in your name.
Criminals regularly use fake Facebook Security messages to trick people into handing over their login credentials. Be wary of any message that claims to be from Facebook and instructs you to click a link to rectify a supposed account problem.
Always login to Facebook by entering the address into your browser’s address bar or via a trusted app. If there really is an account problem, you will generally be informed of the issue after you log in.
Facebook includes information about avoiding and reporting such phishing scams in its help files.
Got a similar message?
Paste it into the detector and see whether it matches a known hoax.
Check a similar messageRelated fact-checks
Browse the archive →How to Recognise and Avoid Facebook Phishing Scams
Image: © depositphotos.com/ bizoon Online criminals use a variety of methods to target Facebook users. These include Facebook cloning, like-farming, and survey scams. But, Facebook phishing scams are the most dangerous and potentially damaging of these. Why?
PHISHING – Instagram Users Targeted via Fake Infringement Notices
Image: © depositphotos.com/IgorTishenko According to Internet security firm Kaspersky, scammers are targeting popular Instagram accounts by sending fake copyright infringement notices.
Phishing Scam – Fake Facebook ‘Copyright Violations’ Message
The message is not from Facebook. It is a phishing scam designed to trick you into giving your Facebook login details to criminals. If you receive this message, do not click any links that it contains.
Apple ID ‘Information Missing or Invalid’ Phishing Scam
According to this email, which was supposedly sent by Apple, some of your account information is missing or invalid and you must open an attached file to verify your details.