Fake Server Message Tries to Steal Email Account Login
The original site is no longer online; links go to the Internet Archive copy.
What the fact-checkers found
According to this supposed server message, you are required to add a recovery number to keep your email account safe.
The “Security Alert” email warns that your account will be deactivated if you do not click a button and add your recovery number.
However, the email is not from your email service provider. Instead, it is a phishing scam that attempts to trick you into giving criminals access to your email account.
If you click the button in the email, you will be taken to a fraudulent website that asks you to sign in with your email address and password. It may then ask you to provide other information such as your phone number and home address details. At the end of the process, you’ll be told that you have successfully secured your account.
But, meanwhile, online criminals can collect the information you supplied and use it to hijack your email account.
Once they have gained access to your account, they can use it to launch spam, scam, and malware campaigns in your name. They will also be able to access other services such as online storage and app stores that may be linked to the account.
The criminals may harvest more personal information from the linked services and add it to the information they collected during the scam. They may subsequently use this information to attempt to steal your identity.
Legitimate email service providers may sometimes send you security alert messages if they detect a login from a new device or suspect unauthorised access attempts.
And, they may prompt you to add a recovery number to help secure your account.
However, genuine emails will always include the name and logo of the service provider. They will not be generic, unbranded messages like the one below.
And, genuine emails will not threaten that your account will be deactivated if you do not immediately click a link and provide information.
It is always safest to login to your email accounts by entering the address into your browser’s address bar or via a trusted app rather than by clicking a link in an email.
Got a similar message?
Paste it into the detector and see whether it matches a known hoax.
Check a similar messageRelated fact-checks
Browse the archive →Fake ‘Error Alert’ Email Tries to Steal Your Yahoo Account Login Details
This email, which claims to be from the “Profile Team” at Yahoo, warns that your account will soon be deleted due to an error detected in your mailbox. But, claims the message, you can avoid this account closure by clicking a debug error link.
Fake Farmville VIP Receipt Email Tries to Steal Your PayPal Info
This email, which looks like it was sent by PayPal, claims that you have made an order via Facebook for a Farmville VIP membership. The email states that, if you did not authorise this supposed order, you should click a link to cancel it.
‘Your De-activation Request’ Phishing Scam Email
This supposed “Server Message” claims that you recently made a request to deactivate your email account. It notes that your deactivation request will be processed shortly.
‘Security of Your Account’ PayPal Phishing Scam
According to this email, PayPal has put your account on a limited list because the company needs more information from you. Supposedly, you are required to click a “confirm” button and follow the steps outlined to protect your account.