‘Godwin Anni’ Friendship Request Hacker Hoax
The original site is no longer online; links go to the Internet Archive copy.
What the fact-checkers found
A message currently circulating via social media warns you not to accept a friendship request from a person that uses the names Godwin Anni, Emeka Anni or Godwin Enyi.
Supposedly, the person is a hacker who has his “system connected to your Facebook account”. According to the warning, you should let all your friends know about the threat because, if one of them accepts the hacker’s friend request, your account will also be hacked.
However, like the many friendship request hacker warnings that have come before it, the message is just a silly hoax and should not be taken seriously. Except for the names of the supposed hackers, the message is almost identical to earlier variants of the hoax.
Here’s What the Hoax Looks Like
Please tell all the contacts in your messenger list not to accept Godwin Anni, Emeka Anni or Godwin Enyi friendship request is one person using different account and with people’s pictures. He is a hacker and has the system connected to your Facebook account. If one of your contacts accepts it, you will also be hacked, so make sure that all your friends know it. Thanks. Forwarded as received. Hold your finger down on the message. At the bottom in the middle it will say forward. Hit that then click on the names of those in your list and it will send to them
‘Hacker” Method Outlined is Not Feasible
The hacker method described in these messages is not valid. Online scammers use a variety of nefarious tactics to fool people into handing over access to their accounts. They could trick you into installing malware that allows them to take control of your computer. Or they could use a phishing attack to trick you into sending them personal information such as your account username and password.
But, even the most skilled hacker cannot take control of your computer or social media accounts just because you accept his or her friend request. For a hacking attempt to be successful, some sort of file transfer or exchange of information must take place.
Hoax May Hurt Innocent People
Variations of the names used in this version of the hoax are shared by a number of people around the world. So, sharing this nonsensical warning may unfairly damage the reputation of innocent people who just happen to share the name of the supposed hacker.
None of these absurd hacker warning messages should be taken seriously. Any message that claims that just accepting a friend request will instantly give a hacker access to your computer should be taken as a hoax and disregarded.
If one of these hoaxes comes your way, do not share it on your networks. And help stop the spread of the hoax by informing the person who posted it that the warning is not valid.
Got a similar message?
Paste it into the detector and see whether it matches a known hoax.
Check a similar messageRelated fact-checks
Browse the archive →‘Sherman Stuurman Friendship Request’ Hacker Hoax
A message that is spreading rapidly on Facebook warns users not to accept a friendship request from a person named Sherman Stuurman because he is a hacker. According to the message, the hacker has his system connected to your Facebook account.
‘James Wood’ Hacker Warning is Yet Another Hoax
A post currently making its way around Facebook warns you not to accept a friendship request from a person named James Wood. Supposedly, this person is a hacker that “has the system connected to your Facebook Account”.
‘Andrea Wilson Friendship Request’ Hacker Hoax
According to a “warning” post that is currently circulating on Facebook, you should not accept a friendship request from a person called Andrea Wilson. The warning claims that Andrea Wilson is a hacker who has ‘the system connected to your facebook account’.
‘Jayden K. Smith’ Hacker Warning is A Hoax
According to a supposed warning message that is circulating rapidly on Facebook, you should not accept a friendship request from one “Jayden K. Smith”. The message claims that the hacker “has the system connected to your Facebook account”.