✕HoaxEnglish

‘Know Who Viewed Your Profile’ Facebook Scam

Fact-check by Hoax-SlayerPublished 1 min read

The original site is no longer online; links go to the Internet Archive copy.

What the fact-checkers found

For years, Facebook users have been plagued by scam messages claiming that they can find out who has been viewing their profiles.

Typically, the messages claim that you need to click a link and then install a Facebook app to access a list of people who have viewed your profile.

After you have installed the rogue app – which will spam all of your friends with more scam messages – you will be told that you must complete a survey before you can see the list.

As described in more detail in our Facebook Survey Scams Knowledge Guide, the suspect survey pages will attempt to trick you into divulging your personal information or signing up for expensive SMS services.

But, no matter how many surveys you complete, you will never get to see the promised list.

Bottom line? Any message that claims that you can install an app or sign up for a service that allows you to see who has been viewing your profile is sure to be a scam.

Facebook includes the following information in its help files :

Can I know who’s looking at my Timeline or how often it’s being viewed?

No. Facebook doesn’t let you track who views your profile or your posts (ex: your photos). Third-party apps are also unable to do this. If you come across an app that says it can show you who’s viewing your profile or posts, please report the app.

Original source: hoax-slayer.netNo longer online, so this opens the Internet Archive copy.Open the archived copy
Pass it on

Got a similar message?

Paste it into the detector and see whether it matches a known hoax.

Check a similar message
Browse the archive →