PayPal ‘You Sent a Payment to Netflix’ Phishing Scam Email
The original site is no longer online; links go to the Internet Archive copy.
What the fact-checkers found
According to this email, which purports to be from PayPal, you sent a payment to Netflix. The email has the subject line “Receipt for Your Payment to Netflix.com”.
The message explains that, if you did not authorize the payment, you can click a login link to cancel it and receive a full refund.
However, the email is not from PayPal and the claim that you sent the listed payment to Netflix is untrue. Instead, the email is a phishing scam that tries to steal your personal and financial information. The refund claim option is a ruse designed to trick you into clicking the link.
Perhaps in an attempt to get more people to click the link, the scammers have two different amounts listed in the supposed receipt. The amount in the bottom portion of the message is $100 more than the one at the top. Some users who really do pay for Netflix via PayPal might just ignore such a message in the mistaken belief that it is a legitimate receipt. But, the discrepancy in amounts in this version may panic a few people into clicking in the belief that a billing error has been made.
If you do click the link, you will be taken to a fraudulent website that looks like a genuine PayPal login page. After you enter your PayPal email address and password on the fake site, you will be taken to a bogus cancel payment form that asks for your name and contact details, your credit card numbers, and other identifying personal information.
After submitting the fake form, you may see a final message that claims that the transaction has been cancelled successfully.
But, now the criminals behind this scam attempt can use the information you provided to hijack your PayPal account and commit fraudulent transactions. They can also commit further fraud using your credit card and possibly steal your identity as well.
PayPal phishing scams like this one are very common and take many forms. Remember that genuine PayPal emails will always use your name as a greeting, they will not use your email address or a generic greeting such as Dear Customer. Always login to PayPal by entering the address into your browser’s address bar or via a trusted app.
PayPal has information about recognising and reporting phishing scams on its website.
Got a similar message?
Paste it into the detector and see whether it matches a known hoax.
Check a similar messageRelated fact-checks
Browse the archive →‘You’ve Just Sent a Payment’ PayPal SMS Phishing Scam
The SMS is not a genuine PayPal payment notification. It is a phishing scam designed to steal your PayPal account login details, credit card numbers, and other personal information. According to this SMS, you have sent a payment to a specified email address.
PayPal ‘You Sent a Payment to Kogan’ Phishing Scam Email
According to this email, which appears to be from PayPal, you have sent a payment of $299 (or $199) to Australian online department store Kogan. The email features the PayPal logo and emulates a genuine PayPal transaction notification email.
PayPal “Cancel Payment”; Phishing Scam
Image: ©doroshin/depositphotos.com
PayPal “Suspicious Activities Notification”; Phishing Scam
The email is not from PayPal. The link opens a fraudulent website that tries to trick you into divulging your PayPal login details, your credit card numbers, your name and address, and other sensitive personal information.